Clallam County Fire Protection District Number 4’s Commissioners are a group of five persons, each elected to six year terms by you and the other registered voters of this fire district.  The board meets regularly once each month and also holds special meetings as needs arise. These meetings are open to the public and notices are published in accordance with open meeting law.

The Board of Commissioners is responsible for governing the operations of the Fire Department and serves as the direct representative of the people. They serve many functions; supervising and working with the District’s administrative assistant and the Fire Chief, establishing  and monitoring progress of the District’s long-range strategic plans, analyzing and identifying funding sources, formulating annual budgets, developing tax levy proposals, and approving key policies.  Each commissioner lives in the fire District and brings a deep understanding of our district’s strengths and challenges, skills from their personal career experiences and continuity to the oversight process.

We are the recipient of Washington Fire Commissioners Association Management Excellence Awards; 1st in 2014, 2nd in 2015, and 1st in 2016, 2017, and 2018 in division “D” (operating budgets under $500,000). The awards are judged on innovative programs, management techniques and accomplishments over the past year.


Our budgeting has historically been carefully conservative and our spending frugal. We acknowledge our responsibility to make the best use of the funds that come from the property taxes that we and all district residents pay.  The district has no long-term debt.  In fact, we maintain a reserve fund to preserve the ability to provide services in the event there is a catastrophic loss of normal revenue streams. Our annual financial audits performed by the Office of the Washington State Auditor are clear of any comments or directives for corrective actions.


Ben Pacheco, Chairman  
Sam Nugent, Vice Chairmen  
Terry Barnett, Member  
Lynn Kastner, Member  
Bruce Leiper, Member  


 Click on names above to download a brief bio of the selected commissioner.


Physical Address:

Clallam County Fire District 4    

51162 HWY 112

Port Angeles, WA, 98363

Mailing Address:

Clallam County Fire District 4    

Po Box 106

Joyce, WA 98343

Contact Info:

Phone +1 360 928 3132

Fax: +1 360 928 9604